• 0%
    No-interest Payment Plans
    No Credit Check. No Fees.
  • 1,300,000
    Fitness Professionals
  • 80+
    Countries around the globe
    with NASM Trainers
  • 10,000+
    Gym and Health Club

NASM Certification Governing Board

Pictured (left to right): Amy Davis, Angel Fidler, Robert Blackstone, Teri Bothwell, Mike Hill, Cindy Eagar, Regina Ierardi; Not Pictured: Brett Grossman

The NASM Certification Governing Board (NASM-CGB) operates independently to set policies for governance of the Certified Personal Trainer certification and the AFAA Certified Group Fitness Instructor. They have the responsibility of oversight over all certification and recertification decisions, including governance, eligibility standards and the development, administration and scoring of assessment instruments.

The NASM-CGB is responsible for the following:

  • Adopting certification program policies and procedures
  • Adopting its own rules of procedure
  • Approving the certification exam content outline (also known as blueprint)
  • Approving the Code of Professional Conduct
  • Approving appointments to exam review committees and acting on their recommendations
  • Appointing a Disciplinary and Appeals Committee
  • Electing successors to the Board
  • Appointing ad hoc committees as necessary

There are occasional vacancies on the NASM-CGB due to resignation and expiration of elected terms of members. If you have an interest in serving as a member of the NASM-CGB we invite your review of the Overview of NASM Certification Governing Board Responsibilities which includes application information.

NASM Certification Governing Board Members

The NASM-CGB is comprised of seven members. The Board includes three personal trainers, three group fitness instructors, one representative of the industry, and one public member. With respect to both personal trainer and group fitness instructor membership, effort is made to have at least one person represent the practitioner and at least one person to represent employers of practitioners. The members serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The end of the current term of each member is listed below with all terms ending on December 31 of each year.

Robert Blackstone – Chair—Public Member (2020) 3rd term
2013 INBA Natural Fitness World Champion; Former, 71 Delta U.S. Army;
Former, Chief Financial Officer;
Current, Calabasas Commissioner for Joint Powers Authority;
Current, Financial Advisor
Calabasas, California

Teri Bothwell—Member—Group Fitness (2022) 3rd term
AFAA-CGFI; ACE Primary Group Fitness Certification; BOSU Master Trainer;
Les Mills BodyPump, Bodyflow; CXWORX; Metabolic Effect;
Regional Group Fitness Director, EOS
San Diego, California

Amy Davis—Member—Group Fitness (2022) 2nd Term
Registered Yoga Training; Stott Pilates Trained; Freemotion Master Coach;
Group Fitness Director/Group Fitness Instructor;
Sports Academy and Racquet Club; Master Trainer, Yoga Assets;
Fitness Expert, Yes! Fitness Music;
Fitness Expert, Icon Health and Fitness;
Providence, Utah

Cindy Eagar—Member—Group Fitness (2021) 2nd term
Les Mills Bodypump, Bodycombat, Bodyflow, Bodyattack, Bodyjam, RPM and Bodystep;
Group Fitness Instructor, EOS Fitness
Queen Creek, Arizona

Angel Fidler—Member—Personal Fitness (2022) 2nd term
Certified Body Code/Emotion Code Practitioner; Precision Nutrition Level 1 Certification; Wholistic Health and Wellness Mentor; Veteran, U.S. Army;
Angel's Heavenly Bodies, LLC
Fielding, Utah

Brett Grossman—Member—Corporate Representative (2020) 3rd term
NASM-CPT, NASM-CES, NASM-PES, EBFA Master Instructor, Power Plate Master Instructor 
Director of Strategic Partnerships at TRX 
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Regina Ierardi—Member—Personal Fitness (2020) 1st term
NASM-CPT, AFAA-CGFI, AFAA-Group Ex, AFAA-Personal Trainer,
TRX Suspension Trainer Certified; APEX Nutrition Certified;
CEO, Bodyperfit Nutrition and Fitness Consulting;
Personal Trainer and Group Fitness Instructor, Onelife Fitness;
Stafford, Virginia

Mike Hill—Member—Personal Fitness (2021) 2nd term
SAC Level I Coach
Associate Athletic Director of Sports Performance, Georgetown University
Washington, DC